Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Molly tutors in Albion, MI

Molly M.

Private tutor in Albion, MI

Education

BA in chemistry at Oberlin College, GPA=3.52

Experience

I spent three out of my four years at Oberlin as a tutor for students in introductory level chemistry classes. Most of these students were first-years, so they were fresh out of high school. There was a great variation in the amount of experience these students had had with math and science. Some of them had taken AP calculus and AP chemistry in high school, so I acted more as a guide for their studying than a teacher. Some of them, on the other hand, hadn't taken a math or science class since freshman or sophomore year of high school, so I had to explain a lot of the concepts of chemistry, re-teach them some algebra, and even explain the basics of calculus. I really enjoyed my experience tutoring at Oberlin and want to continue. I am interested in pursuing a career in secondary science education, but what I really like about tutoring is the one-on-one time I get to have with a student. I like getting to know the person I am helping and feel that I can make a big difference if I work with students individually.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love to read, especially fantasy and science fiction. The world of Harry Potter will always feel like a second home to me. I also ride horses, not much competitively anymore, but I was a member of the equestrian team in college. In high school I ran track and cross country. I still like to run and participate in the occasional 5K. I have been playing flute since I was 10. In college I spent a year as a member of the orchestra, but currently I play only for myself as a hobby.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!